Skip to content

Are You Really Ready to Start Midlife Dating?

June 17, 2013

Remember young love? Remember saying “I do” to the man or woman of your dreams? Remember looking into the eyes of the one who you believed was THE ONE forever?

That was then; you’re older now.

Age wise, your mind and body are going through changes. You certainly haven’t given up on the idea of falling in love or a lasting relationship, but you now look at the world from a different perspective. Priorities may have shifted. Perhaps you’re on your own for the first time in many years. Like many others in a similar situation, you find your new life both daunting and exciting.

You’re back in the dating world, but it’s not how you remembered it. You go with the flow. You try on-line dating sites and social organizations, book clubs and the gym. You tell your friends that you’re ready to be fixed up and you begin the process of getting to know someone new.

But, are you really ready to start midlife dating? How well do you know yourself? Have you always been part of a couple and if so, are you still in touch with your inner self?

Many years have passed since you were out in the dating world.  Are you still looking for that heart pounding love and reckless abandon?  Is that still possible? Are you looking for friendship, companionship, financial stability, or sexual fulfillment?

Now more than ever, it’s important to be true to yourself emotionally, spiritually and physically.  Before taking the midlife dating plunge, consider asking yourself these questions.

  • Am I comfortable by myself or do I have to be scheduled?
  • Can I stay true to my desires or do I allow the crowd to dictate?
  • Do I live in the present or in past memories?
  • Am I honest with myself on all levels, even if the truth isn’t what I want to accept?
  • Can I give up control and compromise?
  • Do I take action or react to it?

And most importantly:

  • Do I need to be with someone or am I content with my life and sharing it with the right person would be the icing on the cake?

Knowing yourself and defining what you truly want in a relationship can make the midlife dating process much more manageable. I honestly believe that the better you know yourself, the better your relationship will be. And who knows, you may find that what you thought you wanted or needed isn’t really what you want or need after all!

From → Share Your Story

Leave a Reply

